Tags

, , , , , , ,

In my earlier post (see: I’ll Do That) I mentioned that by now (January 2015) I would have this step done – actually using augmented reality (AR). So here is my update.

I used Aurasma, a free AR app, to help new students locate and learn about various student services on our campus.  I did not do it alone, of course (I mean I am good, but not that good).  There is a lot to putting it all together well. Dr. Phil Hoffman and his video production students were quite helpful in putting together some of the augmentations that students see.

We wrote up the details, and you can read about our step into AR in the Journal of Media Education (JOME).  The article is titled, “Using Augmented Reality in Quest-Based Learning for First-Year Students” and was published in April 2014.  I know, it was about a year ago, and I am just now getting around to telling you.  I was reviewing my blog and progress to see where I was, what I learned, and challenging myself to keep track of this journey.  And thought I should document it, too.

But let me summarize for you here . . .

Off Campus Student ServicesStudents at The University of Akron have several offices and services that help them succeed, not just survive in college. In order to help new students at find the various services available to them, I decided to make sure they not only heard about the service, but find the office itself.

We used AR to provide a brief video about the office when they arrived and found the trigger image.

Once the students figured out the app, most appreciated the use of technology and felt more aware of what services were available and how to use them.

What have I learned so far on my tech journey?

Using technology is not a one-person activity, especially if you are going to do it right and do it well or effectively.  Part of the learning curve is understanding what you don’t know. Another part is being open to other’s ideas, input and help.  Technology can bring us together well – IF we let it and if we are willing to do it well.

Technology is not the “magic bullet.” It is up to us.

