Tags

, , , ,

I got a chance to read Chris Haskell’s PhD dissertation, and here he is on a podcast about flipping the classroom using the 3D GameLab that he helped develop.

3D Game LabListen in here (they start talking with Chris at about 6 minutes in): http://edreach.us/podcast/flipper-learning-44-gaming-in-the-flipped-classroom-with-dr-chris-haskell/

You can also see a lot more about 3D GameLab in YouTube and at 3D GameLab, too.

I joined them in one of the 3D GameLab boot camps to learn it first-hand, and this is much of the basis for my current pilot study for college students that I will be presenting at iGBL (June 6-7, 2013).

Earlier I tried another approach using Second Life – presented at the 28th Annual Conference on Distance Teaching & Learning (2012 conference proceedings can be downloaded, and my article is on pp. 391-395).

Most of what they do is K-12 based, but there are many of us also adapting some of the concepts to university-level education.  It is hard work, but the challenge is interesting and gives me a chance to use my “creative” side.

Let the games begin!

